top of page

The Noble Eightfold Path (Overview)

1. Right Understanding - sammā ditthi

Deeper understanding of the Buddhist teachings.

(The Buddha never expected from his followers to believe his teachings blindly, but rather to practise them and judge for themselves whether they were true.)

2. Right Intention - sammā san̄kappa

A commitment to cultivate the right attitudes.

3. Right Speech - sammā vācā

Speaking truthfully, avoiding slander, gossip and abusive speech.

4. Right Action - sammā kammanta

Behaving peacefully and harmoniously; refraining from stealing, killing and overindulgence in sensual pleasure.

5. Right Livelihood - sammā ājīva

Avoiding making a living in ways that cause harm, such as exploiting people or killing animals, or trading in intoxicants or weapons.

6. Right Effort - sammā vāyāma

Cultivating positive states of mind; freeing oneself from evil and unwholesome states and preventing them arising in future.

7. Right Mindfulness - sammā sati

Developing awareness of the body, sensations, feelings and states of mind.

8. Right Concentration - sammā samādhi

Developing the mental focus necessary for this awareness.

37 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page